Certified iMIS Administrator (CiA)

About the CiA Program

The Certified iMIS Administrator program is now available in the ASI Learning Hub! The CiA Program is applicable to the latest version of iMIS and is available to those organizations that have an active and current iMIS Learning Subscription with ASI Training.

Watch the video below on how you can enroll in the latest CiA program and get started on becoming a Certified iMIS Administrator!

Why should I get certified?

The Certified iMIS Administrator program was developed as an objective means of distinguishing yourself as highly skilled and knowledgeable in the administration, configuration and management of iMIS.  You know and follow ASIs best practices and standards for working with iMIS.  You also help your organization achieve continuous performance improvement.

You benefit. Certification as a CiA is a distinction that proves your understanding of the core functionality of iMIS as well as the current practices for managing and administering an iMIS system. Getting certified will not only increase your skills, but also demonstrate your knowledge to your organization and peers.
Your organization benefits. Through the certification process, you will be able to demonstrate to your organization that you are skilled managing their iMIS system, are capable of performing upgrades of iMIS, and are prepared to help them achieve continuous performance improvement through iMIS. 

What is the Certification Process?

  • Enroll in the Program below and through the ASI Learning Hub, which will start you on your process
  • Once commenced you complete the process within 6 months.
  • Once all the elements are submitted, your application will go to the CiA Review Committee.
  • Once approved, you will be able to access your CiA Certificate through the ASI Learning Hub and attain the CiA Designation with ASI.

How long is the certification valid?

CiAs maintain their certification for 1 year from the day they become certified.  Once you have completed the Certification, you will be automatically enrolled in the CiA Maintenance program in the ASI Learning Hub. The maintenance program includes some additional mandatory courses and some further elective courses to complete (if not already done). You will also need to achieve a total of 4 additional professional development units  to help ensure you are keeping your skills current over a period of 12 months.

Course Requirements

 See below the list of Mandatory and Elective courses as well as additional PDU points that can be acquired.

Note: Any courses taken either through the ASI Learning Hub or as Instructor-Led courses over the past 12 months will be recognized as Complete in the Learning Hub and against the Certification program - you do not need to retake the course!

Mandatory courses              

Complete all of the courses below


  Essentials of iMIS Contacts  
  Essentials of iMIS Security

  Essentials of iMIS Billing  
  Essentials of iMIS Emails
  Essentials of iMIS Events
  Essentials of iMIS Finance
  Essentials of IQA
  Essentials of iMIS RiSE Content Management
  Essentials of Business Object Designer
  Essentials of iMIS Panel Designer
  Essentials of iMIS Process Automation  
  Essentials of RiSE Web Design  
  Essentials of iMIS Communities  
  Essentials of iMIS Email Marketing  
  Essentials of iMIS Engagement Scoring  
  Essentials of iMIS Dashboards  
  Essentials of iMIS Commerce  
  iMIS RiSE: Account Pages  
  iMIS RiSE: Tagging  

Elective Courses

Complete a minimum of two elective courses


  Mastering iMIS Membership Setup

  Mastering iMIS Email Personalization  
  Mastering iMIS Finance  
  Essentials of iMIS Events Setup  
  Mastering iMIS Events by Example  
  Mastering IQA Queries  
  Essentials of iMIS Report Writer  
  Essentials of Applying IQA Queries  

Additional PDU

Complete any of the following for additional PDU points     

      PDU Points

  Mastering iMIS Dashboards  1
  Mastering BOD with iMIS Expression Builder
  Mastering iMIS Process Automation
  Essentials of iMIS Accrual Billing 0.5 
  Essentials of iMIS Certification  1
  iMIS RiSE: Best Practices for Website Content  0.5
  iMIS RiSE: Image Optimization  0.5
  Essentials of iMIS Fundraising  1
  Essentials of iMIS AutoPay - Fundraising
  Essentials of iMIS AutoPay - Membership  1
  Mastering iMIS Report Writer  1

Conference Attendance

iNNOVATIONS Conference



NiUG Conferences (1 per certification)


Who should apply:

This certification is designed for:

  • Administrators who manage iMIS systems for organizations
  • Individuals who take an active role in helping manage the use of iMIS within their organization
  • New consultants working with iMIS for clients 



  • At least 1 year experience in working with iMIS
  • Complete required Essentials courses in the ASI Learning Hub
  • Complete at least 2 Elective courses
  • Additional 4 Professional Development Units
  • Passing mark on the CiA knowledge assessment




CiA Knowledge Assessment

  • The CiA Assessment consists of  75 questions with an 80% pass mark required
  • The questions can be true/false, multiple choice, multiple answer or matching
  • You have 1 hour to complete the assessment and submit
  • You will have up to 2 attempts and then contact ASI Training for additional attempts on review


Questions are based on the key areas of iMIS including:

  • User Security (User types, Roles, Access, Groups)
  • General iMIS Knowledge (Finance, Membership, Events, Commerce, Community)
  • Data Management (IQA, Business Objects, Account Pages, Panels)
  • Website Management and Marketing (Navigation, Content, iParts, Emails, Advanced Email)
  • Reporting (Process Automation, Dashboards, Scoring, Report Writer, SSRS)